Election Information

The next Municipal Election is Monday, October 18, 2021.

To see the changes made to the Local Authorities Election Act, visit Municipal Affairs Alberta Changes in Election Act.


Election Day

Election day is Monday, October 18, 2021 (every four years on the third Monday of October) and runs from 10:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Advance Vote

The Advance Vote date, hours and locations for the Advance Vote will be announced at a later date

Nomination Period

New for 2021, this period starts January 1, 2021 (as offices are closed on the holiday, nomination papers may be submitted starting January 4, 2021, between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.).   The Nomination Period remains open until 12 noon on Nomination Day, Monday, September 20, 2021.

Due to the current pandemic and to ensure the Returning Officer is available to accept nomination papers, potential candidates are encouraged to call and make an appointment prior to stopping by the County office (403-782-6601).

The appropriate Nomination Paper and Candidate's Acceptance form must be signed by at least five (5) eligible electors. The Returning Officer is required to refuse a Nomination Paper that has been signed by fewer than five electors as per the Local Authorities Election Act.

Upon receipt of Nominations for the 2021 election, Lacombe County will be posting a listing of all candidates who have filed Nomination Papers on the County‚Äôs Election Website.

Applications will be accepted at the Lacombe County Office (Hwy 12 & Spruceville Road (Range Rd. 27-4)). Nomination Papers must be submitted in person. The $100 cash only nomination fee must be included with the Nomination Paper.

Campaign Contributions, Campaign Expenses and Third Party Advertising

New rules are in effect and Candidates and Third Party Advertisers are responsible to ensure compliance with the legislation. Local Authorities Election Act - Part 5.1 (Section 147.1 to 147.96) and Part 8 (Section 162 to 188.1)

Call for nominations

The Returning Officer will place a call for nominations in local newspapers during this period.

Please check our WebsiteFacebook, and Twitter and for announcements and updates regarding the 2021 Election.


Lacombe County is comprised of seven electoral divisions, with one councillor elected from each. All candidates must be residents of their electoral division for 6 consecutive months prior to Election Day. 

pdf Electoral Divisions Map (620 KB)

All successful candidates will serve a four-year term. 

There is no limit to the number of times a councillor may be re-elected. From the elected council, a Reeve and Deputy Reeve will be elected annually.

If you have thought about community leadership and are not sure where to start, the Elected Officials Education Program (EOEP) may be of interest to you. For more information, visit the EOEP Website (http://eoep.ca/home). 

You can also refer to the "Running for Municipal Office Guide" (link here)


These resources are meant to assist individuals that are interested in seeking election or re-election to the office of Municipal Council. The information provided is general in nature and has been prepared as a reference only for candidates. All candidates are responsible for complying with statutory provisions found in the following:

Copies of the Acts may be obtained online from http://www.qp.alberta.ca/.


28 Jan 2021
09:00AM -
County Council
02 Feb 2021
09:00AM -
Committee of the Whole
11 Feb 2021
09:00AM -
County Council
25 Feb 2021
09:00AM -
County Council

Current County News