Paying your taxes

Tax payments are payable to Lacombe County no later than August 31, and can be made using one of the following options:

  • By mail to: Lacombe County, RR3, Lacombe, AB T4L 2N3
    Mailed payments must be postmarked by Canada Post no later than August 31st of the current year. If the postmark is illegible or missing, the actual date of receipt by Lacombe County will apply.
  • In Person: At the County Office (40403 Rge Rd 274, Lacombe County, AB) during office hours.
  • Deposited in the envelope mailbox located at the road entrance to the County office (Do not submit cash).
  • Electronically: Through electronic payment methods, including internet banking and for businesses, electronic funds transfer (EFT). Funds must be received in the County's bank account no later than August 31st.
  • By Credit Card: visit and pay through OptionPay, a secure third-party site, to make payment by credit card. Please note that there is a fee for this service. Lacombe County does not receive any of the credit card fees.
  • Tax Installment Payment Plan: Those enrolled in the County's tax installment plan {TIPPs) will see their payment adjusted to reflect the new tax rates for 2022 on their next monthly payment.

The above due date and penalties DO NOT APPLY to ratepayers enrolled in the Tax Instalment Payment Plan (TIPP), which allows property taxes to be paid on a monthly basis instead of one single payment. Application forms for enrollment are available at the Lacombe County Administration office or on the Lacombe County website.

About the County’s tax notice is a combined assessment and tax notice.

  • Anyone wishing to appeal their assessment has 60 days from the notice of assessment date to do so. A per parcel fee will be charged for people making complaints against assessments. If the Assessment Review Board decides in favour of the complainant, the fee will be refunded.
  • Property owners who miss the tax payment deadline will have a 6% penalty applied on September 1 on the outstanding taxes owing. An additional 10% penalty will be added on December 1 for all taxes remaining unpaid after November 30.