LRWSC appoints new Commission Manager

The Lacombe Regional Waste Services Commission (LRWSC) is pleased to announce the appointment of Jay Hohn as the new Commission Manager.

“The board members feel we have made a great choice from a field of very good candidates,” said LRWSC Chair, Lacombe Mayor Grant Creasey. “We look forward to Jay participating in our upcoming strategic planning sessions to help set the future direction of the commission.”

"I am very excited and appreciate the opportunity to become the next manager for the commission,” said Jay Hohn. “I believe in providing and maintaining safe public facilities with an emphasis on environmental responsibility towards waste and recycling management."

Jay has been with the LRWSC for the past two years, working as an Operator and Safety Coordinator. Prior to his time at the commission, Jay owned and operated a successful small waste management company in Central Alberta for seven years.

Jay has a diploma in Environmental Sciences from the Northern Alberta Institute of Technology. He is originally from central Alberta, and currently lives in Blackfalds. He is married to Tanya and has six adult children. He enjoys camping and fishing in his spare time.

About the Lacombe Regional Waste Services Commission
The Lacombe Regional Waste Services Commission (LRWSC) is made up of elected representatives from the City of Lacombe, Lacombe County, Town of Eckville, Town of Bentley, Village of Clive and Village of Alix. The LRWSC owns and operates five solid waste facilities within Lacombe County, including transfer sites at Eckville, Bentley, Spruceville, Alix/Mirror and a transfer site and Class 3 landfill at the Prentiss location.

Approximately 10,000 tonnes of dry rubble is landfilled annually, and almost the same volume of MSW (household/kitchen waste) is transported to the Class 2 landfill at West Dried Meat Lake.
A Board of Directors and a Manager govern the LRWSC. The two larger municipalities, City of Lacombe and Lacombe County, each have two representatives on the board, while the smaller four municipalities each have one representative on the Board for a total of eight members.