Lacombe County Council Re-elects Reeve Law

During the October 20, 2020 Organizational Meeting, Lacombe County Council re-elected Division 4 Councillor Paula Law as Reeve for an eighth one-year term. Councillor Law assumed the Reeve’s Chair after taking the Oath of Office from County Manager Tim Timmons and expressed thanks to the Council members for their continuing support. 

“For 10 years, I have had the honour and privilege to sit on County Council, and I look forward to serving an eighth term as Reeve of Lacombe County,” said Reeve Law. “Together, with my fellow councillors, we will continue to speak up for our residents and for Central Alberta on regional, provincial and federal issues – especially at this time, when there are a number of issues that could have a direct and significant impact on them.”

Reeve Law was born and raised in Lacombe County. In 2019, her family celebrated 100 years in Lacombe County. She and her husband continue to call Lacombe County home and operate a grain farm northeast of Lacombe. Paula was first elected to Council in 2010 and was appointed as Deputy Reeve in 2011. In 2013, she was appointed Lacombe County Reeve. During this time, she has sat on numerous committees and boards. Currently, Paula chairs the Ag Service Board and is the Vice-Chair of the Lacombe Foundation.

“I appreciate the trust and confidence my fellow Councillors have in me, and I’m committed to working with this passionate group of individuals to serve Lacombe County to the best of my ability,” said Reeve Law.

At last year’s Organizational Meeting, Lacombe County Council voted to re-appoint Division 5 Councillor Ken Wigmore to a two-year term as Deputy Reeve.